ESIF Sub Committee

The SELEP ESIF Strategy was sent to Government on the 31 January 2014 and was approved by the SE LEP Board in December 2013. The updated tables for all the Thematic objectives of the ESIF, sent to Government on May 2014 and the Draft Local Implementation Plan (LIP) which shows the number of outputs required per£1000 of project spend, can be seen here.(need to track this down )

Applications for funding will  need to take this information into consideration.

There is approximately £74.1  million ERDF, £71  million ESF and £14.5 million EAFRD available in the SE LEP area. They are also linked to performance across the whole LEP area.

How to access these funds

During the operational phase of these programmes, between now and 2020, a series of “Calls for Applications” will be arranged by the programme Managing Authorities (MAs) and announced on the www.gov.uk website . The Managing Authorities of the programmes are:

  • Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) for the ERDF Programme
  • Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) for the ESF Programme
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) for the EAFRD Programme

The MAs retain the liability for the EU Funds at national level and carry out the technical assessment of all project applications including eligibility, the gateway criteria and the value for money checks. They will also check the projected outputs of each application to ensure they are in line with the LEP’s Local Implementation Plan.

The ESIF Sub-Committee has the role of endorsing projects regarding value for money and strategic fit with the LEPs European Structural and Investment Fund (ESIF) strategy and also the Strategic Economic Plan (SEP). The Sub-Committee also agrees the content, size and scale of a rolling programme of future calls for applications.

Under the ERDF and EAFRD programmes there is is a two stage application process starting with an Expression of Interest. If this is recommended for approval by the MA and endorsed by the ESIF Sub-Committee then the project applicant will be invited to submit a full application within two months. Subject to the final checks by the MA, the applicant will then enter the contracting phase of the project . The ESIF Sub-Committee will receive regular update on the progress of each of the approved projects including the spending profile and outputs.

Under the ESF programme there are a series of Calls for Tender which are advertised on the .Gov website by the DWP whiich carries out the appraisals.

Partners in SELEP are very keen to ensure that there is a pipeline of project ideas under preparation to ensure that the money available begins to flow into the area as soon as possible. It is important to note that  LEPs are being encouraged to develop ambitious projects with economy of scale and that project applicants can work with partners from across the LEP, with neighbouring LEPs or LEPs from a completely different part of the country that might have a common interest on a particular theme such as the automotive industry or renewable energy

If you would like to know more or have any questions please contact us:

SELEP Contacts:

Lorraine George - lorraine.george@eastsussex.gov.uk
Jo Simmons - jo.simmons@eastsussex.gov.uk
Louise Aitken - louise.aitken@essex.gov.uk

Local area contacts

Katy Thomas- katy.thomas@eastsussex.gov.uk
Sarah Nurden - sarah.nurden@kent.gov.uk
Paul Dodson - paul.dodson@essex.gov.uk
Stephen Taylor - staylor@thurrock.gov.uk
Chris Burr - chrisburr@southend.gov.uk
Shane Convey - shane.convey@medway.gov.uk